Black Site by Michael Patrick Hicks (Narrated by Sean Patrick Hopkins)

Achieves A Lot In Such A Short Story

4.5 out of 5 stars

I’m not going to lie, when I saw the cover of this… probably a year ago, I was excited for it, then subsequently bummed out because it wasn’t available on audio.  Now, I know that making an audiobook isn’t easy or cheap but I’ve been spoiled with the massive amount of amazing audiobooks that are out there. Michael Patrick Hicks‘ books included. I’ve enjoyed every audiobook he’s put out – and I knew if/when this was released I was going to enjoy it as well.

I was right, Black Site was the exact short story I was looking for this weekend. I was able to start and finish it in one sitting and it was a complete story that didn’t need hundreds of pages or hours of audio to prove its point. Black Site was originally part of a collection of stories about clones, so the fact that this is about cloning was no surprise.

What was a surprise was the amount of “wtf” moments that Hicks was able to shove into such a short story. I can’t really talk about any of them because it would spoil it, but know that you’re in for a book that messes with your mind. And one that definitely had me aching for more Hicks audiobooks.

Book Description:

Are you prepared to enter the Black Site?

Inside an abandoned mining station, in the depths of space, a team of scientists are seeking to unravel the secrets of humanity’s origin. Using cutting-edge genetic cloning experiments, their discoveries take them down an unimaginable and frightening path as their latest creation proves to be far more than they had bargained for.

Perfect for fans of H.P. Lovecraft and Alien comes a new work of cosmic terror!

Black Site is a short story of approximately 10,000 words.

four-half-stars
Black Site by Michael Patrick Hicks
Narrator: Sean Patrick Hopkins
Length: 1 hr and 9 mins
Published by High Fever Books on June 3rd 2020
Genres: Science Fiction, Short Story
Format: Audiobook
Also by this author: Revolver, From The Ashes, Mass Hysteria, Consumption

four-half-stars
0

Leave a Reply