The Other Mrs.: A Novel by Mary Kubica (Narrated by Piper Goodeve, Jeremy Arthur)

Cover - The Other Mrs.: A Novel by Mary Kubica

Kept Me Guessing

5 out of 5 stars

Mary Kubica’s The Other Mrs. is a psychological thriller set in a small, idyllic coastal town in Maine. When Sadie and Will Faust move their sons Otto and Tate from the bustling city of Chicago into an old, dilapidated house inherited from Will’s recently deceased sister, things soon become… a bit less idyllic. We quickly learn that the “fresh start” Will and Sadie were hoping to find in Maine wasn’t just an escape from the memories of an affair, but an opportunity for their teenage son Otto to take advantage of a clean slate as well. As events begin to unfold and new characters emerge, it becomes clear that neither a fresh start nor a clean slate will be in the family’s future.

The house comes with an occupant, Will’s teenage niece Imogene, who is grieving her mother’s sudden death and seems equal parts traumatized and traumatizing for Will and his family. Kubica’s characterization of Imogene is extraordinarily well done. I immediately and consistently felt sympathy for her while somehow simultaneously feeling so creeped out and nervous about her that I didn’t think I’d want to be alone with her. Similarly, Will seems intentionally almost too good to be true. On the surface, it seems that he could truly be a doting father and attentive husband, or perhaps he’s trying to make amends for his infidelity… or maybe there’s something more sinister going on?

This book had me asking so many questions. It was a “who done it” of sorts but also had me wondering how the various stories and characters connected. I wondered, what did Otto do in Chicago? Was there more to Sadie’s resignation from the hospital than the move? Who is Mouse? Could she be Camille, Sadie, or Morgan as a child? Could she be Imogene or perhaps Morgan’s step-daughter? Maybe one of these adult women happens to be Mouse’s “other mom and Mouse’s stories are happening in the present? Who is doing the bad things? It has to be the niece. Or Otto… or Camille? Was Will having an affair with Morgan? If he was, who has the greater motive to kill her, Will or Sadie?

Kubica’s fast pace will keep you on your toes, asking questions and playing the guessing game until the very end. When the truth is finally revealed and all of the pieces come together, you may not be entirely surprised–there was a decent amount of foreshadowing in hindsight–but you certainly won’t be disappointed. The Other Mrs. was another “twisty good” psychological thriller that will keep you listening in your car after you’ve arrived at your destination and will make doing chores almost enjoyable. Despite the existing mixed review of the narration, I found both narrators to be pleasant to listen to and felt Piper Goodeve’s subtle voice changes differentiated between the various female characters and their stories quite well. At the risk of giving too much away, I’ll simply say that Jeremy Arthur’s portrayal of Will was perfect.

Book Description:

Propulsive and addictive, and perfect for fans of You, The Other Mrs. is the twisty new psychological thriller from Mary Kubica, the New York Times best-selling author of The Good Girl

She tried to run, but she can’t escape the other Mrs.

Sadie and Will Foust have only just moved their family from bustling Chicago to small-town Maine when their neighbor Morgan Baines is found dead in her home. The murder rocks their tiny coastal island, but no one is more shaken than Sadie.

But it’s not just Morgan’s death that has Sadie on edge. And as the eyes of suspicion turn toward the new family in town, Sadie is drawn deeper into the mystery of what really happened that dark and deadly night. But Sadie must be careful, for the more she discovers about Mrs. Baines, the more she begins to realize just how much she has to lose if the truth ever comes to light.

The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica
Narrator: Jeremy Arthur, Piper Goodeve
Length: 11 hrs and 52 mins
Published by Harlequin Audio on February 18th 2020
Genres: Mystery, Suspense
Format: Audiobook

0

One thought on “The Other Mrs.: A Novel by Mary Kubica (Narrated by Piper Goodeve, Jeremy Arthur)

Leave a Reply