Audiobook: The Oracle Year by Charles Soule (Narrated by Charlie Thurston)

Give This One A Try

4 out of 5 stars

Filled with wit, charm, intrigue, mystery and sass this audiobook will leave you satisfied. I think there is something for everyone but this reads like a “guy” book with a totally different type of “superhero”.

I was hooked from the start and kept wanting to find out more about the Oracle and how this would play out. Fair warning there are several instances where politics and religion play a crucial role in this story but the author does a good job of coupling those with other mainstream issues too.

I mean, c’mon if anyone reading this could tell me that they wouldn’t put their predictions on the internet to make money, then you are a better person than I. In several other reviews it has been noted that the characters are flat, however, I think the author gives the characters some good depth and you get to see how they change from the start to the end of the book.

For this type of story, the characters were given enough depth for you to care about how things turned out for them. I am a sucker for black ops and secret off-the-book missions storylines so I enjoyed that part of the story. One thing I felt as if the story dragged at some of the middle points but picked back up near the end. Stick through the middle part because to see how everything comes together at the end is definitely worth it.

The narration was done quite well. This was my first performance by Thurston and he brought a lot to the book. His character voices were on point and easy to differentiate between characters. He even does a convincing aging woman’s voice too.

Predictions…good, mystery…good, sass…good so what is not to like. Give this one a try I think you will come to enjoy it.

Book Description:

Audiobook: The Oracle Year by Charles Soule (Narrated by Charlie Thurston) four-stars
The Oracle Year by Charles Soule
Narrator: Charlie Thurston
Length: 12 hrs and 8 mins
Published by HarperAudio on April 3rd 2018
Genres: Thriller
Pages: 416
Format: Audiobook
Buy From Amazon
Buy from Audible

From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future—perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.

Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from a dream one morning with 108 predictions about the future in his head, he rapidly finds himself the most powerful man in the world. Protecting his anonymity by calling himself the Oracle, he sets up a heavily guarded Web site with the help of his friend Hamza to selectively announce his revelations. In no time, global corporations are offering him millions for exclusive access, eager to profit from his prophecies.

He's also making a lot of high-powered enemies, from the President of the United States and a nationally prominent televangelist to a warlord with a nuclear missile and an assassin grandmother. Legions of cyber spies are unleashed to hack the Site—as it's come to be called—and the best manhunters money can buy are deployed not only to unmask the Oracle but to take him out of the game entirely. With only a handful of people he can trust—including a beautiful journalist—it's all Will can do to simply survive, elude exposure, and protect those he loves long enough to use his knowledge to save the world.

Delivering fast-paced adventure on a global scale as well as sharp-witted satire on our concepts of power and faith, Marvel writer Charles Soule's audacious debut novel takes readers on a rollicking ride where it's impossible to predict what will happen next.

I received this book for free. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

four-stars
0

Leave a Reply