Audiobook: Suicide Six by Bobby Akart (Narrated by Sean Runette)

Suicide Six by Bobby Akart

A Great Finale

5 out of 5 stars

What a great way to end the series, and what a series it’s been! Akart made me feel things that I don’t normally feel while reading normal books – let alone post-apocalyptic ones.  Suicide Six is about as perfect of an ending you can write for a series and I’m glad that Akart picked the ending he did. Over the course of this series, we lost some people – and Akart lets you know that he nor his characters will forget these people.

The name itself made me smile when I realized he named it after a plotline in the book.  I was driving to work and I got this big smile on my face (“oh, that’s why he called it Suicide Six!”).  He was able to sneak it in there without making it seem overdone or make you react like when a character says the movie title in the middle of a movie.

It’s crazy to think back on the first part of this book and realize that all happened during the same story.  Akart splits the book in two and gives you not one, but two battles you won’t soon forget.  And then the end he gives you yet another one if you didn’t have enough action in the opening.  The final battle and then scenes after (I’m trying so hard not to give anything away) really hit me in the soft spot.  Akart was able to get that gut reaction out of me that most authors strive for.

Overall, Suicide Six might be my favorite book in the series (it’s probably tied with the first book, Axis of Evil). The writing is just perfect, it’s not in your face with polarizing politics, and has so many heartwarming moments that will be remembered long after the battle scenes are forgotten.  Suicide Six and the entire Lone Star Series will hold a special place in my heart.

Book Description:

Audiobook: Suicide Six by Bobby Akart (Narrated by Sean Runette) five-stars
Suicide Six by Bobby Akart
Narrator: Sean Runnette
Length: 7 hrs and 23 mins
Series: The Lone Star Series #6
Published by Audible Studios on July 31st 2018
Genres: Post-Apocalyptic
Format: Audiobook

The Lone Star Series continues as international best-selling author, Bobby Akart (The Blackout series, The Pandemic series, The Boston Brahmin series, and the Prepping for Tomorrow series) intertwines historical fact with plausible fiction in Suicide Six, the thrilling conclusion to The Lone Star Series, a post-apocalyptic EMP survival thriller.

With those words, a hero rose to the challenge and a family found the strength within themselves to face the unthinkable. The forces of evil have descended upon Armstrong Ranch. The family had worked this ranch since the 1800s and now invaders from a faraway land had plans to take it away. Will the Armstrongs persevere in the face of a well-trained, deadly enemy which intends to steal their home and end their lives?

I received this book for free. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Also by this author: 36 Hours (Blackout #1), Zero Hour (Blackout #2), The Loyal Nine, Cyber Attack
Also in this series: Axis of Evil, Beyond Borders, Lines in the Sand, Fifth Column


I’ve loved reading since I was little when my dad would read me Dr. Suess books. Fast-forward a little and I noticed that he was always reading on his lunch breaks at work, and I wondered why.Then, I found a book that took me to another place and time, to another feeling,another sense of “being”.It was the first book that I ever fell in love with, and I’ve been chasing that feeling ever since.

Leave a Reply