New and Notable Audiobook Releases (Week of January 10, 2017)

Here are the books that were released this week that I think are new and notable.

If you’d like to be featured here in the upcoming weeks, please let me know!

Containment by Hank Parker
Narrated by George Newbern

Check out my review

From a former US government advisor on agroterrorism comes a ripped-from-the-headlines debut thriller about a global plot to release a deadly virus and the elite response team who must try to stop it.

When a gruesome new tick-borne virus breaks out near a major US city and the outbreak is traced to an extremist group in Southeast Asia, the race to stop a global bioterrorism conspiracy is on. Government epidemiologist Mariah Rossi must leave the safety of her lab to help fellow scientist and covert CIA agent Curt Kennedy track the disease back to its source. Their worldwide net leads them to an underground lab in the jungles of the Philippines, then to a deadly and climactic battle in coral reefs near Malaysian Borneo, and finally to London and back to America, where the virus must be contained. For fans of Michael Crichton and Richard Preston, this chilling, realistic thriller is a terrifying reminder of how vulnerable humans are to biological threats – and, in this instance, just one tick bite away from catastrophe.


Dusk or Dark or Dawn or Day by Seanan McGuire
Narrated by Emily Bauer

When her sister Patty died, Jenna blamed herself. When Jenna died, she blamed herself for that, too. Unfortunately Jenna died too soon. Living or dead, every soul is promised a certain amount of time, and when Jenna passed she found a heavy debt of time in her record. Unwilling to simply steal that time from the living, Jenna earns every day she leeches with volunteer work at a suicide prevention hotline.

But something has come for the ghosts of New York, something beyond reason, beyond death, beyond hope – something that can bind ghosts to mirrors and make them do its bidding. Only Jenna stands in its way.

Dusk or Dark or Dawn or Day is a new stand-alone urban fantasy audiobook from New York Times best-selling author Seanan McGuire.


Rift: The Complete Rift Saga, Books 1-3 by Andreas Christensen
Narrated by Michael Goldstrom

From the ruins of what used to be North America, a new nation was forged by survivors of the Fall. They called this new nation the Covenant, and two centuries later it is stronger than ever. The Moon people, descendants of lunar colonists who returned to Earth to rebuild it, rule with an iron fist to ensure their dominance over the original inhabitants, the English. For the Covenant is a nation where a chosen few prosper at the cost of everyone else, and while the English are forced to serve their masters their entire lives, the Moon people have mastered the greatest secret, the secret of life itself.

In the Rift Saga, we follow Sue and Dave, two English teens sent off to serve; Evan, a soldier and a member of one of the most prominent families of the Moon people; and Mark, the oldest man on Earth as they find themselves in the midst of events, uncovering conspiracies that have kept the Moon people in power ever since they left their dusty refuge behind.

Sooner or later, in different ways, they will all find that lies and deception can work for only so long, and sooner or later the truth will be unveiled. What will happen once the veil of lies unravels?

The Rift Saga takes place more than two centuries after the events of Exodus in a dystopian society forged from the ashes of global disaster.

The Complete Rift Saga consists of Rift (book 1), Covenant (book 2), and Legacy (book 3).


The Eye of Madness by John D. Mimms
Narrated by Jason Belisha

When the eye of the cosmic storm passes over Earth, the Impals – visible spirits who can’t cross over – disappear. But an ethereal void opens, releasing the lost souls of murderers, rapists, and genocidal maniacs. As darkness and chaos overtake the Earth, people everywhere face horrific fates. No one is safe who falls into the shadows.

General Ott Garrison is immune to harm, which he feels is a sign from God; he is meant to lead. His son, Cecil, fears the opposite – that the general is a kindred spirit with the evil infesting the world. On the run, Cecil and members of the Myriad Resistance become trapped in a secluded cabin in the Virginia wilderness. The only thing keeping what lies in the shadows of the thick woods at bay is a gasoline-powered generator, which is running dangerously low on fuel.

Soon the device feared to destroy the soul – The Tesla Gate – may be the world’s only option for salvation.


Rogue State: Fractured State, Book 2 by Steven Konkoly
Narrated by Timothy Andres Pabon

Twenty years in the future, America perches on the edge of collapse, devastated by drought and dwindling resources. California, now a totalitarian surveillance state controlling the lion’s share of the nation’s economy, is on the brink of secession. And family man Nathan Fisher finds himself at the heart of a bloody conspiracy that threatens the lives of his loved ones and the future of the country itself. Pursued by Mason Flagg and the sinister Cerberus organization, Nathan and his embattled family – accompanied by tough-as-nails Marine David Quinn – make a desperate run across the blasted wastes of the western United States, seeking sanctuary in Nevada.

Woefully outmanned and outgunned by a cadre of ruthless Russian mercenaries enlisted by Flagg, and closely pursued by the drug cartels that rule the ravaged Southwest, the Fishers need some serious help to survive…but at what price?


Burning Bright by Nick Petrie
Narrated by Stephen Mendel

In the new novel featuring war veteran Peter Ash, “an action hero of the likes of Jack Reacher or Jason Bourne” (Lincoln Journal-Star), Ash has a woman’s life in his hands – and her mystery is stranger than he could ever imagine.

War veteran Peter Ash sought peace and quiet among the towering redwoods of Northern California, but the trip isn’t quite the balm he’d hoped for. The dense forest and close fog cause his claustrophobia to buzz and spark, and then he stumbles upon a grizzly long thought to have vanished from this part of the country. In a fight of man against bear, Peter doesn’t favor his odds, so he makes a strategic retreat up a nearby sapling.

There he finds something strange: a climbing rope affixed to a distant branch above. It leads to another and another, up through the giant tree canopy, ending at a hanging platform. On the platform is a woman on the run. From below them come the sounds of men and gunshots.

Just days ago investigative journalist June Cassidy escaped a kidnapping by the men who are still on her trail. She suspects they’re after something belonging to her mother, a prominent software designer who recently died in an accident. June needs time to figure out what’s going on and help from someone with Peter’s particular set of skills.

Only one step ahead of their pursuers, Peter and June must race to unravel this peculiar mystery. What they find leads them to an eccentric recluse, a shadowy pseudomilitary organization, and an extraordinary tool that may change the modern world forever.

Author: Brian

Hello! I'm Brian --- also known in the beer world as BrianBeerGod. I decided to foray my love for reviewing beers into the world of book reviews. I enjoy reading sci-fi, zombie, disease/science, business fiction, thrillers, and comedy/memoir books. Also "Orwellian," Utopian and Dystopian novels. Some of my favorite books include: 1984 by George Orwell, the MEG series by Steve Alten, and books by Richard Preston, Matt Reilly, and Douglas Preston.

One Reply to “New and Notable Audiobook Releases (Week of January 10, 2017)”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *