Daemon by Daniel Suarez

daemon

This story really messed with my head

5 out of 5 stars

I originally finished this book in 2012, but I only had a few line review for it.

Wow, what a well written and super plausible vision of societies downfall.

Suarez weaves technology that you wouldn’t believe exists (but really does) with a great description of online gaming, along with a couple great protagonist and a very hateable antagonist.

The way that Suarez wrote Daemon made it feel so real that you wanted to crawl in a hole away from your computer and any devices and just let the world pass by.  Technothriller to the very end — Daemon had me intrigued from the first paragraph.

The way that the story progressed really kept me interested too.  Once I thought I figured it out, it would take a turn and do something different (much like a virus eluding capture).

Now that I’ve had time to think about this book I’m excited to find out that there are two more books in this series.  One is completed and the other is coming soon.  If you enjoy computer-based technothrillers, I think you’re going to love Daemon.

Book Description

 

Daemon by Daniel Suarez five-stars
Daemon (Daemon, #1) by Daniel Suarez
Series: Daemon #1
Published by Dutton Adult on January 8th 2009
Genres: Technothriller
Pages: 432
Format: Kindle

Goodreads

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer—the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy—or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .
Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

About The Author

 

daniel-suarezDANIEL SUAREZ is the author of the New York Times bestseller Daemon, Freedom™, Kill Decision, and Influx. A former systems consultant to Fortune 1000 companies, he has designed and developed software for the defense, finance, and entertainment industries. With a lifelong interest in both IT systems and creative writing, his high-tech and sci-fi thrillers focus on technology-driven change. Suarez is a past speaker at TED Global, MIT Media Lab, NASA Ames, the Long Now Foundation, and the headquarters of Google, Microsoft, and Amazon — among many others. Self-taught in software development, he is a graduate from the University of Delaware with a BA in English Literature. An avid PC and console gamer, his own world-building skills were bolstered through years as a pen & paper role-playing game moderator. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

five-stars

Author: Brian

Hello! I'm Brian --- also known in the beer world as BrianBeerGod. I decided to foray my love for reviewing beers into the world of book reviews. I enjoy reading sci-fi, zombie, disease/science, business fiction, thrillers, and comedy/memoir books. Also "Orwellian," Utopian and Dystopian novels. Some of my favorite books include: 1984 by George Orwell, the MEG series by Steve Alten, and books by Richard Preston, Matt Reilly, and Douglas Preston.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *